Revised FEMA Flood Insurance Rate Maps Effective August 15

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is formally revising the Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRMs) within FEMAHarris and Galveston Counties which may affect the floodplain designation of your property within League City. These new maps will become effective on August 15, 2019. For League City, this revision means that approximately 10,674 acres and approximately 3730 homes will be located within FEMA’s Special Flood Hazard Area (commonly known as the 100-year floodplain). The revision also has approximately 6,420 acres and approximately 7,378 homes located with the 0.2% Zone (formerly called the 500-year floodplain).

The City is required to adopt the revised FIRMs to continue participation in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). The NFIP allows the City and property owners to be eligible for federally managed flood insurance, federally backed mortgages, federal grants, and federal disaster relief, thereby providing a means for property owners to financially protect themselves (a risk not covered by standard homeowner’s insurance policies). 

To read more about the FEMA flood insurance maps, click on Revised FEMA Flood Insurance Rate Maps.

Elevation Options Will Depend on Local Regulations and Flood Zones 

Some property owners impacted by Tropical Storm Imelda will be required by their local government to elevate their structures to or above the base flood elevation (BFE). Those owners have structures that are determined to be substantially damaged. Other property owners may be interested in elevating, even though they are not required, because building above the BFE can reduce potential future flood losses and can result in a substantial discount on flood insurance premiums. Each community’s floodplain administrator or building department can tell you what building requirements apply for your property. 

  • In Zone V (coastal high risk areas) National Flood Insurance Program regulations require that the building be elevated on an open foundation (e.g., pilings, posts, piers) and that the bottom of the lowest horizontal structural member (e.g., floor support beam) be at or above the BFE. For more information on construction in Zone V, view the FEMA Coastal Construction Manual at https://www.fema.gov/media-library/assets/documents/3293
  • In Zone A (high risk areas) buildings may be elevated either on an open foundation or on continuous foundation walls below the BFE. Regardless of the type of foundation used, Zone A buildings must be elevated so that the lowest floor is at or above the BFE. If continuous walls are used below the BFE, they must be equipped with openings that allow flood waters to flow into and out of the area enclosed by the walls. 
  • For more information on considerations and techniques for elevating structures that are outside of the coastal high risk areas, view FEMA’s Homeowner’s Guide to Retrofitting, Chapter 5, Elevating Your Home at https://www.fema.gov/media-library/assets/documents/480.

What Is Increased Cost of Compliance (ICC)?

ICC coverage is included under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) Standard Flood Insurance Policy (SFIP) to help policyholders with the costs incurred if they are required by the community building department to meet rebuilding standards after a flood.

ICC coverage provides up to $30,000 to help pay for relocating, elevating, demolishing, and floodproofing (non-residential buildings), or any combination of these mitigation activities.

The ICC portion of the claim is handled separately from the building and/or contents portion of the claim. However, the combination of payments cannot exceed the maximum coverage limits available through the NFIP. For example, a policyholder cannot receive more than $250,000 in claim payments for a residential building.

To view a brochure on ICC in English or Spanish, visit https://www.fema.gov/media-library/assets/documents/12164.

Am I Eligible? Yes, if:

  • You have an NFIP flood insurance policy; and
  • Your community determines your home is substantially or repetitively damaged by flooding; and
  • The flood damage to your home is equal to 50 percent of the pre-flood market value.

How Do I File a Claim for ICC?

  1. If your community determines your structure is substantially or repetitively damaged, discuss what mitigation activities will be required to rebuild and if any grants may be available.
  2. Promptly contact your insurance carrier to file a claim for ICC. Do not begin repair work before filing an ICC claim.
  3. Submit to your insurance carrier the letter from your community declaring the building substantially or repetitively damaged, a signed contract for the mitigation activity, and the building permit that documents rebuilding requirements.
  4. The insurance carrier will verify that the flood damage to your building equals at least 50 percent of the pre-flood market value, which is required to start the ICC claim.

 For more information, visit https://www.fema.gov/increased-cost-compliance-coverage.

Local Ordinances & Substantial Damage Determinations 

Communities that participate in the National Flood Insurance Program have a flood damage prevention ordinance or ordinance language that requires determinations of which structures need to be rebuilt more resilient after recent flooding. The primary goal of making substantial damage determinations is to reduce the risk of future physical and economic loss due to natural disasters.The local official who is designated to administer the National Flood Insurance Program in his or her community is responsible for making substantial damage determinations.Structures that are substantially damaged must be brought into compliance with local flood damage prevention requirements.

For more information about substantial damage, view Answers to Questions About Substantially Improved/Substantially Damaged Buildings.

Additional Resources en Español


Flood Zones Map

Effective FEMA FIRM Letters

Flood Zones

Use the Find Address tool in this map to locate flood zones in your area. Areas marked are considered as Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA) wherein the defined area is considered to have a 1% chance of being inundated in any given year. Please use the FEMA panels below to see more detail about this information.

Flood Map

2019 FEMA Panels

Archived FEMA Panels